Log in

Log in

The Society's History

How It All Began

In the winter of 1958, a group of psychoanalysts in Denver, Colorado, all graduates of a Psychoanalytic Institute accredited by the American Psychoanalytic Association, met to form a discussion group. After considerable deliberation, it was decided that the organization of the group should be largely unstructured and informal, that there should be no constitution of by-laws. Dr. Rene Spitz was asked to assume a position of leadership for the group and the secretarial work was to be carried on by Dr. Eleanor Steele. 

The discussion group grew and on April 10, 1962, the Denver Psychoanalytic Society was organized.  It was accepted as an Affiliate Society of the American Psychoanalytic Association on May 6, 1962.

Charter Members

  • John D. Benjamin, M.D., 
  • Gaston F. Blum, M.D., 
  • Henry H. Brewster, M.D., 
  • James F. Dyde, M.D., 
  • Julie Eisenbud, M.D.,
  • Herbert S. Gaskill, M.D., 
  • Laurence B. Hall, M.D, 
  • Margaret Hitchman, M.D.,
  • Edith B. Jackson, M.D., 
  • Sydney G. Margolin, M.D., 
  • William M. Shanahan, M.D., 
  • Rene A. Spitz, M.D., 
  • Brandt F. Steele, M.D., 
  • Eleanor A. Steele, M.D.

Society Presidents

1962-1963 Rene A. Spitz, M.D.

1963-1964 Brandt F. Steele, M.D.

1964-1965 John D. Benjamin, M.D.

1965-1966 Gaston E. Blom, M.D.

1966-1967 Sydney G. Margolin, M.D.

1967-1968 Laurence B. Hall, M.D.

1968-1970 Eleanor A. Steele, M.D.

1970-1971 Jule Eisenbud, M.D.

1971-1973 Warren S. Kennison, M.D.

1973-1975 Stanley S. Weiss, M.D.

1975-1977 Thomas J. Luparello, M.D.

1977-1979 Jacob G. Jacobson, M.D.

1979-1981 Herbert S. Gaskill, M.D.

1981-1983 Herbert Kritzer, M.D.

1983-1985 William E. Bernstein, M.D.

1985-1987 Richard B. Cattell, M.D.

1987-1989 David M. Hurst, M.D.

1989-1991 Peter Mayerson, M.D.

1991-1993 Gary C. Martin, M.D.

1993-1995 Paula P. Bernstein, Ph.D.

1995-1997 Calvern E. Narcisi, M.D.

1997-1999 Paula P. Bernstein, Ph.D.

1999-2001 Mary Ann Levy, M.D.

2001-2003 Barbara C. Unger, Ph.D.

2003-2005 Cynthia Rose, M.D.

2005-2007 Arthur D. Garfein, M.D.

2007-2009 Randolph W. Pock, M.D.

2009-2011 Ronnie M. Shaw, APRN, BC

2011-2013 Rex H. McGehee, M.D.

2013-2015 Margy Stewart, Psy.D.

2015-2016 Geoff B. Heron, M.D.

2016-2019 Ben Green, M.D.

2019-2021 Margy Stewart, Psy.D.

2021-2023 Lynne Gillick, Ph.D., FABP

2023-2025 Larry Mortazavi, M.D.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software